Day 74 – Wait, what? I’m sick?!

So, um, I had an – uh – abnormally high WBC today at Lisa NP visit. 

50.3 

(The stick hurt as well, both in AND out.  There’s a lot of scar tissue there because of past pharesis, but I think she might have got a nerve. I actually jumped and squeaked – which didn’t help since it was a new person, who probably thought I’m a total wimp).

Deciding the crazy high value was because it was Day 9 after Neulasta rather than Day 7, Nurse Lisa said ” A REGULAR doctor seeing this would think you are super sick or had leukemia.”

😳

We talked about how well I’m doing, overall. Granted, the diarrhea has been intense this week, my potassium values are low (I got a food list, yay! Oh, look! Prune juice is on there!). I’ll see Dr. H in 2 weeks, have more lab work, and then again to review the surgical biopsy report. 

Anyway, I came home and took a nap. Woke up heavy after bizarre dreams, with a headache, sore throat and rising fever. It hit 100.4 – (100.5 being the point at which you call it it).  It was still before 5, so I called the oncologist. Whatever I got,  bacterial or viral, I’ve got some Levaquin now.

Side effects: diarrhea.  Oh, and gastritis, apparently.

Oh, joy.

Getting into the spirit of the thing, and actually having a REALLY good appetite (surprise! ; ) – I decided I’d take my chances and  devoured the most marvelous Eggplant Parmigiana (thanks, Jim And Kay!).

Also got prayed over. I was afraid of infecting THEM with something, but we St. John’s choir folks don’t scare easily, lol! 

In fact, I seem to be getting kinda sassy. Defying the mouth sores, thumbing my nose at the tomato sauce.  Rubbing the buddha belly with genuine affection.

Forget being “thin and interesting” – it’s good to be a sheep.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. julia
    Oct 25, 2013 @ 21:32:15

    stay sassy :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 124 other followers

